Username

Password

Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.

Forum Threads

Member Poll

Do you tell people that you have dyscalculia?

You must login to vote.

Users Online

· Guests Online: 4

· Members Online: 0

· Total Members: 6,056
· Newest Member: SBP

View Thread

Print Thread
No one understands my math diffuculty
genstar
#1 Print Post
Posted on September 08 2012 01:34 PM

Hello I'm Gen and I haven't been diagnosed yet with Dyscalculia but I'm pretty sure I have it. Yes as a freshman I passed Prealgebra, then after two years of taking Algebra I finally passed it as a Junior. Now I'm a senior I'm taking Geometry and my mom thinks Geometry really isn't much math because it's mostly shapes but I disagree. I've been told numerous times I shouldn't get too upset about my diffuculty with math because everyone has things they're good at and not good at. This phrase isn't helping me feel any better because Math is so challenging I'm barely passing. Right now I'm flunking Geometry and I need to pass it to graduate.I'm constantly turning in assignments late and having to have one on one help from other people through my resource classes. I am an attentive listener in class, take notes, and try as hard as I can in school, yet Math I still have so much trouble with. Here are some of my reasons why I believe I have dyscalculia.

1. I always, always, always look at notes but notes usually don't help me. When I look at notes all I usually see is words that don't make sense even though they've already been defined and math problems I have no idea how they were calculated. So when teachers tell me just take a guess , I can barely guess because I don't understand the notes.

My teacher has also used soppousedly "professional" Geometry computer programs to help the class enhance their learning but they have done nothing to help me. They're just like my notes.