Username

Password

Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.

Forum Threads

Member Poll

Do you tell people that you have dyscalculia?

You must login to vote.

Users Online

· Guests Online: 8

· Members Online: 0

· Total Members: 6,056
· Newest Member: SBP

View Thread

Print Thread
I think I have dyscalculia, and I am really scared.
argentnox
#1 Print Post
Posted on August 31 2009 04:49 AM

I am a college student who has always struggled with math. I excel at pretty much everything else. I have a 4.0, but this is my first math course in college. I went in thinking my problems from grade school to high school were just due to a lack of trying, and that I could definitely work hard and do well in college. The first week was a review of basic math principles. Basic concepts, operations on real numbers, exponents, roots, order of operations, properties of real numbers. I did well, and I thought, "Hey! I can do math! I will be able to do this!"

The second week (this week) is linear equations, inequalities, and applications: Linear equations in one variable, formulas, applications of linear equations, linear inequalities in one variable, set operations and compound inequalities, absolute value equations and inequalities.

I went in with confidence. I maintained my confidence through the first couple of sections. I was struggling a little, but I know that math is not the easiest of subjects. I figured if I just kept trying, I would get it. Mostly, I did. Then I hit the word problems, percentages, and absolute values. It was like running at high speed into a brick wall.